top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZack Seif

"Beginnings" (EP) Released 12/15

Updated: Apr 4, 2019

Debut EP available at all major online retailers and regressionmusic.bandcamp.com




This EP contains 5 tracks and sets the tone for my original music. Use of heavy guitars, syncopated rhythms and ambient synths creates a soundscape of modern metal.


“On December 2015, he released his art masterpiece to the world.” - Ryan Modica, CapStudies

When my first band decided to part ways in April/May 2013, I acquired some recording gear and got right to work recording the songs I had written for my self. In July 2013 I recorded and released "Recovery" under the alias "Regression", which was partially taken from Animals as Leaders' "An Infinite Regression" and the fact that I wanted to be in a Progressive project, and thought using the opposite would be an interesting fit. My PC crashed shortly into the 2nd track, and I lost all of my data. I put the project on hold indefinitely until October 2014, when I acquired my MacBook Pro. Having the year in between helped me revise the songs with a fresh mindset and a new direction. I decided to re-arrange and produce Collapsing Faith's hit "Lights" in honor of my time with the band. I officially released "Lights" in May 2015 during the end of my Senior Year (work and school prolonged the release of the song). I created the official Regression page to promote it and post updates. After the immense support and feedback of the song, I decided to finish the EP I had waited so long to release (over 2 years at this point). During that time, I got a hold of Jake Bowen's (Periphery) solo Ambient CD and was captivated by it. I then decided to release a short Electronic based EP to explore more programming and electronic elements. I released 4 singles and then combined them into the "Electric Soundscape" EP which I wrote, recorded and released in just 17 days on August 3rd. I then proceeded to finish the rest of the album having been influenced by so much music in between, and re-worked most of the tracks with a new vision. The second track, "The Seeker" was finished towards the end of 2015 along with the help of my guest soloist and good friend Kevin Chapi of Monument of a Memory. After hooking up with DistroKid, I set my release date for December 21st, 2015. My EP “Beginnings” came out as expected, and is up for purchase/download on all major digital retailers and BandCamp.


Links:



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page